Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square

A Retrospective: I’m home now, but this is me reminiscing. So enjoy!!

Both the Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square were at the very center of Beijing (the square is right on the doorstep of the Forbidden city, and as such, we visited both on the same day.

Historically, many people know of Tienanmen square because of the significance it has to this very day on the perception of China. There, they now have statues and landmarks to recognize important figures and points in their history.

I would like to say that both the square and the city are solemn places, where you can think about the past and the things that have happened there. Sadly, they are not- just as I noticed mostly everywhere in the country, tourism has taken over, with many vendors trying to sell you something around every corner.

The lack of solemnity does not, however, take away from the majesty of the Forbidden City. The gold rooftops, extravagant buildings, and intense statues, doors, and gates made for one of the most awe-inspiring sights that I’ve witnessed in my entire life.

Throughout the entire trip, I found myself trying to imagine what it would have been like in the past- during the Qing or Ming dynasties, for example- when only a select few were allowed into the areas in which I was walking. This, thought difficult, added to my experience- I would venture off from the group at times to look at things for myself, blocking everything out, and in hindsight, I’m glad I did. I saw so many minor details I would not have noticed otherwise because of it.

I also discovered their Popsicles here. Wow. Can we get those in the U.S.?

Leave a comment